h1

Homemade caramel rolls and coffee can be the basis for a social marketing strategy.

February 1, 2011

6 lessons I learned from my mother running a small business on Main Street USA that have spanned the test of time. 

I’ve spent 20 years in direct marketing but as I think about how marketing has changed in today’s highly competitive, overly fragmented environment, many of the core strategies remain the same.  I grew up working in my family’s hardware store.  My mom, who ran the store, was an extraordinary marketer (though she didn’t know it).  Here’s some of what I learned from Main Street Iowa that is still relevant today. 

Lesson #1 – Homemade caramel rolls and coffee can be the basis for a social marketing strategy.  Or more accurately stated today, social marketing is not about the channel or online application.  It is not just about having a Facebook page or a Twitter account.  Social marketing is about making a connection with your customers.  My mom always baked fresh caramel rolls and coffee for all the customers when a big sale was starting.  She promoted the free rolls and coffee.  She recognized that the local farmers would stop by the store for coffee and pick up a few things while they were there.  During that time, she had the opportunity to socialize with them.  They hung out with the other shoppers and built a strong sense of local community.  Social media is today’s caramel rolls and coffee.

Social marketing and community are all about relating to your customers, building a relationship, having a conversation.  Focus needs to be on the content and relationship and less on the channel. 

Leave a comment